I picked up my friend Abby on the west side of Indianapolis. We were excited to see some of our friends, but first we had to get to the east side of Indianapolis. I’m being completely serious when I tell you that we were lost for over 2 hours. I think we drove back and forth from one side of Indy to the other at least 4 times. It was a disaster. I was incredibly frustrated.

I needed a GPS.

I was driving home from work late at night, and it was pouring down rain. As I came over a hill on the highway, flashing lights met me. A man motioned for me to turn onto a county road. It was my only option. I had never been on the county road before, and I had no idea where I was going or how to get home. As the large raindrops smashed onto my windshield, inside the car teardrops began running down my face. I was scared and alone.

I needed a GPS.

I was supposed to be at an interview in 10 minutes. The directions I had printed out told me to take Lake Drive. I drove and drove, but Lake Drive doesn’t exist. I turned down every other road possible searching for the right building or a sign that I was at least in the right area. I was supposed to be at my interview by now, and I still had no clue where the place was. I was confused and frazzled.

I needed a GPS.

In all of these instances, if I had only had a GPS system I could have found my way easily without the frustration, fear or confusion. As I laid in bed the other night, I pondered all of this. I realized not only do I want a GPS system for my car, I would really like one for my life.

You see, I’m at this point in my life where I don’t know where to go. It feels like there are about five different roads in front of me, and I have no idea which I’m supposed to take. I just know I don’t really like traveling on the road I’m on now. But which way do I turn? It would be so much easier if God would just give me a GPS to say “Turn right in 2 miles.”

Another thing I love about GPS systems is that they show you your Estimated Time of Arrival (ETA).  I love knowing when I’m going to get somewhere so that I’m not late. Wouldn’t it be wonderful if our life GPS also showed our ETA? It would make the “construction periods” a lot easier, because we’d know exactly when we would get the “new pavement.” We could count down, making the hard times easier. There wouldn’t be any fear of a never-ending hardship. We would know, without a doubt, the trial will eventually end.

But that is not reality. We can’t have a life GPS. And we can’t know our ETA. God doesn’t promise to reveal our futures to us. He doesn’t promise to show us what our paths will look like. We won’t always be certain about which direction to turn or what will be around the next corner. But God promises to be a lamp for us as we walk the path of life. Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light for my path. Psalm 119:105

Here’s the thing though, have you ever actually walked in the dark with a lamp? It’s nothing like a flashlight. You can only see enough light to take a step forward, but the lamp does not show you what’s ahead after that. It doesn’t show you the entire path or when the next fork in the road will be. There’s only enough light to take one step at a time. We have to trust God. We have to have faith that He is leading us in the right direction and that He won’t let us fall into a pit.

I don’t need a GPS.

I only need the God who loves me enough to show me the way, even if it’s just one step forward at a time.

